The world’s perhaps most admired Hungarian folk music ensemble Muzsikás gave a wonderful performance at the Embassy of Hungary last Thursday. More than 200 guests enjoyed their performance in Washington - and even more their full-house concert titled 'The Routes and Roots of Bartók' at the Carnegie Hall.

Please click here to read the New York Times article about their Carnegie Hall concert.

Due to their unique musical skills, instrumental knowledge and musical versatility, they can cope with playing on different music scenes, collaborating with various noted musicians and groups, from folk and world-music to classical and jazz, and even to alternative rock music (they played in live with Woven Hand in 2008). They have toured all over the world including nearly every European country, in addition to North-America, Japan, Australia and New Zealand, Hong Kong, Singapore and Taiwan. They have already presented their exceptional live performances at the greatest festivals and in the most significant concert halls, such as the Royal Festival Hall, Royal Albert Hall, Barbican Center and Queen Elisabeth Hall in London, Théatre de la Ville and Cité de la Music in Paris, Santa Cecila Academy in Rome, Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, and Carnegie Hall in New York.

As the first Hungarian folk ensemble accepted by the classical music scene, they combined traditional music with the classical compositions of Bartók, Kodály, Kurtág and Ligeti. They achieved to fuse 20th century Hungarian classical and traditional Hungarian folkmusic, hereby, saved for the future generations, the heritage of Bela Bartok, the greatest Hungarian composer and collector of traditional music. MUZSIKÁS’ music appears in the film of the Oscar winner director Costa Gavras, "Music Box" that also received the first prize at the Berlin film festival in 1989. They have provided the music for a contemporary dance piece titled "Dancing Room" which was performed in several theaters in England and filmed by BBC. Amongst various prizes, they were awarded the most respected Hungarian State award for artists, the Kossuth Prize, the Prima Primissima Award and in 2008 they received the prestigious WOMEX Award for World Music as well. In the 2011 concert season they appeared at the Royal Festival Hall in the concert-series of Infernal Dance organised by Philharmonia London Orchestra honouring the great composer Béla Bartók.

The musicians: Mihály Sipos - violin, citera

László Porteleki - violin, koboz, vocal

Péter Éri - kontra, viola, mandolin, flute, long flute

Dániel Hamar- contrabass, gardon, drum, cymbal

For more information, please visit the website of MUZSIKÁS.